Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Lee Charm resigns as tourism chief over sex scandal

Posted: November 15, 2013 at 10:20 am | Modified: November 15, 2013 at 10:52 am

Lee Charm

Lee Charm on Friday resigned as head of the Korea Tourism Organization in the wake of growing criticism that he had sex with a prostitute in Japan while on a business trip early this year.

The tourism body held an official farewell ceremony Friday morning despite Lee Charm’s denial of having sex with a prostitute in Japan.

Lee Charm admitted to visiting a “soapland,” the Japanese term for a venue that offers sex for money, but he claimed that he only received a massage without sex.

Lee Charm expressed his intention to sue JTBC which broke the news that he ordered employees to look for places offering sexual entertainment in Tokyo and asked his Japanese host to pay the bill.

“Each person paid about 750,000 won ($700) and the Japanese side ended up footing the bill,” a man who arranged Lee Charm’s trip in Japan was quoted as saying by JTBC.

Born Bernhard Quandt in Germany, Lee Charm arrived in Korea in 1977 as a member of the Unification Church and later acquired Korean citizenship.

About Lee Tae-hoon

He is an award-winning journalist and the CEO/publisher of The Korea Observer, which aims to be the nation's leading news provider and online community for expats. Lee received the Award for Outstanding Watchdog Journalism by the Anti-Corruption and Civil Rights Commission and the Best Reporter of the Year Award by The Korea Times in 2012.


Follow the Author on Twitter Visit the Author's Facebook Find the Author on Google+ View All Articles Written by the Author

One Response to Lee Charm resigns as tourism chief over sex scandal

  1. Lee Tae-hoon Reply

    November 15, 2013 at 10:23 am

    Lee Charm stepped down Friday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>